Benny Sings releases new single “Nobody’s Fault” and announces new album for April

Dutch pop artist Tim van Berkestijn, better known by his stage name Benny Sings, has announced his new album “Music”, which will be released on 9th April. A first taste of the long-awaited follow-up to “City Pop” is given by his new single “Nobody’s Fault” (featuring Tom Misch), which will delight Benny’s fans again with its modern blend of 70’s influenced pop and soul.

Benny has been very busy over the past year: The terrific single “Rolled Up” featuring Mac DeMarco was already released in autumn. The title track “Music” was released early last year and Benny performed it at an appearance on NPR’s Tiny Desk, with a (Home) Concert this summer. He also previously unveiled “Sunny Afternoon,” which he co-wrote with Grammy Award-winner PJ Morton.

Some of these soulmates are now also to be heard on the new album “Music”: Mac DeMarco contributes a grandiose, expressionless vocal part to “Rolled Up”; Tom Misch belts out a killer guitar solo for the first single “Nobody’s Fault” – Benny’s favourite track on the new longplayer, by the way.

About the new single “Nobody’s Fault” Benny says: “it’s about a person who, after being rejected, responds rationally, rather than in an emotional or sad way. “Therein lies an extra sadness for me: it’s more sad to see a person falling, and saying ‘I’m all right!’, than someone lying on the ground and crying. The guitar solo at the end is by Tom Misch. I’m a big fan of his music, so was very excited he wanted to join me on the song.”

You can see the new video for “Nobody’s Fault” here: YOUTUBE

Photo: Felice Hofhuizen